The Five Yamas

This week in class we went over the five Yamas which are the moral injunctions that a yoga practitioner should follow. They lead to right living. The five Yamas are:

Ahimsa: non-violence / non-harming
Satya: truthfulness
Asteya: non-stealing
Brahmacarya: chastity
Aparigraha: non-hoarding, without posessions

The Yamas are often thought of guide posts to help the practitioner be in better relations with the world around them.

Similar Posts