The Five Yamas

This week in class we went over the five Yamas which are the moral injunctions that a yoga practitioner should follow. They lead to right living. The five Yamas are:

Ahimsa: non-violence / non-harming
Satya: truthfulness
Asteya: non-stealing
Brahmacarya: chastity
Aparigraha: non-hoarding, without posessions

The Yamas are often thought of guide posts to help the practitioner be in better relations with the world around them.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.