The 8 Limbs

This week in class we were discussing the 8 limbs of yoga, as laid out by Patanjali in the Yoga Sutras. The 8 limbs are steps to help guide the yoga practitioner (sadhaka) in their Sadhana (practice). They are in a progressive order for learning but are all interrelated. They are:

Yama: moral injunctions
Niyama: fix observances
Asana: posture
Pranayama: regulation of breath
Pratyahara: internalization of the senses
Dharana: concentration
Dhyana: meditation
Samadhi: absorption

Although asana is not the first step out of the 8, it can be a place to start because the physical body grabs our attention. Once the body has brought you to attention the other limbs are introduced and learned.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

If you agree to these terms, please click here.